About Us

Timberland Federal Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial cooperative, owned and operated democratically by members like you! Our Board of Directors consists of volunteers, who are elected at our annual meeting by our members.

The National Credit Union Administration insures your Share Savings at the credit union to at least $250,000.

Our Goal is to provide the Membership with high quality service, understanding and convenience. We hope you will use your credit union membership and discover the fantastic value and rewards of Timberland FCU!

The Story Behind Timberland

Our credit union was chartered in 1973 as the Riverside Employees Federal Credit Union. At the end of our first year of operation, membership had grown to 843 with $129,000 in assets. The “official” offices were above the old Riverside store #3 (currently the Giant Eagle) in DuBois.

In July 1985, the Board of Directors decided to change the name of the credit union to attract other companies and reflect the diverse company base it was building. On July 16 of that year, the National Credit Union Administration approved the name change to Timberland Federal Credit Union. “Timberland” was chosen because DuBois was once known for its timber industry, and in French, “DuBois” means “of the woods.”

In 2002, Timberland Federal Credit Union achieved a new milestone reaching assets over $30 million and adding an additional office in Clearfield. We continued to grow in 2016, opening an office in Philipsburg.

The credit union has come a long way from the days over the “old market” with current assets exceeding $60 million, membership approaching 10,000 and opening our fourth office in Pleasant Gap.

Board of Directors

Timberland Federal Credit Union’s all-volunteer Board of Directors is elected by the membership at the annual meeting every March. The Board, in turn, makes policy decisions for the operation of the Credit Union. The current Board is:

  • David Volpe - Chairman

    Initial Member since: 2002

  • Doug Kougher- Vice Chairman

    Initial Member since: 1988

  • C. Joe Hockman - Treasurer

    Initial Member since: 1974

  • Marsha McCurdy - Secretary

    Initial Member since: 1984

  • Keith Dusch - Director

    Initial Member since: 1991

  • Charles Burchfield - Director

    Initial Member since: 1988

  • E. George Downer, Jr. - Director

    Initial Member since: 2016

Supervisory Committee

In addition, the Board of Directors appoints a Supervisory Committee that is dedicated to ensure policies and procedures are in place to safeguard the assets of the Membership. The current Supervisory Committee is:

  • George Downer - Chair

    Initial Member since: 2015

  • Scott Fine - Committee Member

    Initial Member since: 2017

  • Don Motherwell - Committee Member

    Initial Member since: 2002